You are here

Going to FOSDEM 2014

This year, and more precisely next week-end, I will be attending the well-known FOSDEM open-source conference.

More specifically, I will be giving this little talk in the Desktops devroom, Saturday at 13:35. The talk links to this formerly-posted article.

This is a very exciting, though potentially stressful, experience. I am currently making sure that everything will be working well, appeasing the Demo-$DEITY with some sacrificials, re-writing the same slide for the third time... Nonetheless, there will be unpredictable fun :-).

As far as I can remember, I always had interest in open source software. I installed my first Linux distribution in 1998, and that's pretty early if you consider when I was born. During the first years though, I was merely a end-user, only comparing stuff and installing servers for companies where I used to work as a sysadmin. My first development using open-source technologies occured a lot later, but since then, I never went off the boat... and am now an official FOSS integrator and developer !

One thing I regret, though, is that with all my new responsibilities, I only have very few time left for my personal projects. I guess it's visible on this blog, where very few packages have seen updates in the past months. It's not that I lost interest, but I can't afford spending hours on experiments anymore. On the other hand, I sometimes asked for help or sponsorship, but didn't get as much as I hoped. Projects are not dead, they are just waiting for input.

For anyone interested or wanting to meet me there, don't hesitate to send me a mail using the contact form !

Add new comment

Filtered HTML

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.

Vous êtes ici

En route pour le FOSDEM 2014

Le prochain week-end, je participerai au très connu salon FOSDEM à Bruxelles, consacré au logiciel open source.

Plus précisément, je donnerai cette petite présentation dans la Desktops devroom, samedi à 13h35. La présentation est en rapport avec cet article déjà posté.

C'est une responsabilité passionnante, mais potentiellement stressante. Je m'assure actuellement que tout marchera bien, apaise la Divinité des Démos avec quelques sacrifices, ré-écrit la même diapositive pour la troisième fois... Il y aura de toute façon de l'imprévisible :-).

Aussi longtemps que je me rappelle, j'ai toujours eu de l'intérêt pour le logiciel libre. J'ai installé ma première distribution Linux en 1998 (ce qui est précoce si l'on considère mon âge) ; durant les premières années cependant, je n'étais rien de plus qu'un utilisateur final, installant des serveurs pour les entreprises où j'étais employé en tant qu'administrateur système. Mes premiers développements basés sur des technologies libres ont eu lieu bien plus tard, mais depuis, j'y suis resté fidèle... et suis maintenant officiellement un développeur/intégrateur open source !

L'un de mes regrets, cependant, est que mes nouvelles responsabilités me laissent peu de temps pour mes projets personnels. Je suppose que ce blog, où seuls quelques paquets ont été mis à jour en quelques mois, en est la preuve. Je n'ai absolument pas perdu mon intérêt pour eux, mais ne peux plus leur consacrer le temps nécessaire. D'un autre côté, les quelques fois où j'ai demandé aide ou sponsoring, la réponse n'a pas toujours été à la hauteur... Les projets ne sont pas morts, ils attendent

Pour quiconque désirerait me rencontrer au FOSDEM, n'hésitez pas à m'envoyer un message grâce au formulaire de contact !